ALPSP Awards for Innovation in Publishing – Shortlist Announcement

    The Association of Learned & Professional Society Publishers is delighted to announce the shortlist for the ALPSP Awards for Innovation in Publishing 2017

    Delta Think Open Access Data Analytics Tool

    Escalex® from IFIS Publishing and Molecular Connections

    INASP AuthorAid


    SourceData from EMBO

    Springer Nature SharedIt


    Chair of the judging panel, David Sommer, noted ‘With over 40 submissions addressing a diverse range of areas from the peer review process, to funding analysis and accessibility issues for developing world authors, judging has been particularly tricky this year. We believe that the finalists we have selected are not only transformative but truly innovative for scholarly publishing in what they offer.’

     Audrey McCulloch, Chief Executive of ALPSP, remarked ‘The panel has once again risen to the challenge of judging a wide variety of submissions representing the best innovations in scholarly publishing from around the world. It’s fantastic to see organizations of all sizes contributing to making our industry such an exciting place to be.’ 

    The finalists will be presenting their submissions to our panel of judges, who represent many aspects of scholarly publishing, for further scrutiny and final judgement next month. They will then be able to showcase their products to industry peers at the ALPSP 10th anniversary conference in the Netherlands and the winner will be announced at the Conference Awards Dinner on Thursday 14 September.

    About the ALPSP Awards for Innovation in Publishing

    The ALPSP awards are open to any new development, product, service, launch or project which is both innovative and of significant value to scholarly communication. The winners must demonstrate excellence in terms of originality and innovation, significance and value to the community, utility and long-term viability.

    The 2017 ALPSP Awards for Innovation in Publishing are sponsored by MPS Limited

    Panel of Judges

    David Sommer, Product Director & Co-founder, Kudos (Chair)

    Andrew Barker, Associate Director, Library Services, Liverpool John Moores University

    Lars Bjørnshauge, Managing Director, DOAJ

    Astrid Engelen, Business Strategist, IOS Press

    Lorraine Estelle, Project Director, COUNTER

    Richard Gedye, Director of Outreach Programmes, STM

    Pam Harley, Senior Consultant, Clarke & Company

    Jane Harvell, Head of Library Academic Services & Special Collections, University of Sussex

    Robert Iannello, Sales and Marketing Manager, ARM Education Media

    John Shaw, Vice President, Publishing Technologies, SAGE Publishing

    David Smith, Head of Product Solutions, The IET

     About the ALPSP Conference

    The 2017 ALPSP Conference will be held at the Grand Hotel Huis ter Duin in Noordwijk, the Netherlands from 13-15 September.  The conference is the ideal forum in which to discuss the challenges facing the industry and learn about new initiatives and developments.