Celebrating the Work of the 2014 Nobel Laureates

John Wiley & Sons, Inc., would like to congratulate all of the 2014 Nobel laureates and is proud to have published work by nine of the laureates. To celebrate their achievements Wiley has made a selection of content from the 2014 winners free to access until the end of the year.

“I would like to congratulate each of the 2014 Nobel laureates on their remarkable achievements,” said Steven Miron, Executive Vice President, Global Research. “We are honored that the laureates are a part of our author community and have chosen to publish their research with Wiley and the societies and organizations we serve.”

The 2014 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded jointly to Professors John O’Keefe, of University College London, UK, May-Britt Moser, of Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway, and Edvard I. Moser, of University of Science and Technology, Norway, “for their discoveries of cells that constitute a positioning system in the brain.”All three laureates are Editorial Board Members of the Wiley journal Hippocampus and all have published with Wiley.

May-Britt Moser and Edvard I. Moser have published research in EMBO Molecular Medicine, Hippocampus, Scandinavian Journal of Psychology and European Journal of Neuroscience. John O’Keefe published two chapters in Wiley’s Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science as well as the CIBA Foundation Symposium series.

The Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to Professors Isamu Akasaki, of Meijo University, Nagoya, Japan and Nagoya University, Japan; Hiroshi Amano, of Nagoya University, Japan; and Shuji Nakamura, of University of California, Santa Barbara, USA, “for the invention of efficient blue light-emitting diodes which has enabled bright and energy-saving white light sources.” All three laureates are Wiley authors having published well over 150 papers in Wiley’s Physica Status Solidi family of journals as well as other Wiley titles.

Shuji Nakamura was publishing with Wiley as early as 1996 with an article in Advanced Materials. More recently his letter inphysica status solidi (RRL) attracted more than 100 citations.1 Hiroshi Amano was a guest editor on three issues of physica status solidi (c), his most recent edition published in 2014. Isamu Akasaki, Hiroshi Amano and Shuji Nakamura also authored chapters in Nitrides with Nonpolar Surfaces: Growth, Properties, and Devices (Wiley-VCH, 2008).

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded to Eric Betzig, of Janelia Farm Research Campus, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Ashburn, VA, USA; Stefan W. Hell of Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen, and German Cancer Research Center, Heidelberg, Germany; and William E. Moerner of Stanford University, Stanford, CA, USA, “for the development of super-resolved fluorescence microscopy.”

Eric Betzig has published research in Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences, Angewandte Chemie International Edition as well as contributing to Current Protocols in Cell Biology; Stefan W. Hell serves on the Editorial Boards ofChemPhysChem, Annalen der Physik, Journal of Biophotonics, and Journal of Microscopy, his latest research appearing in September this year as a cover story in Chemistry – A European Journal; and W. E. Moerner has published with Wiley throughout his career and serves on the Editorial Board of ChemPhysChem.

The 2014 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2014 was awarded to Jean Tirole of Toulouse 1 Capitole University, France, “for his analysis of market power and regulation.”

Jean Tirole serves on the Advisory Board of Journal of the European Economic Association, his latest Wiley published research appearing in The RAND Journal of Economics in 2014.

To celebrate the achievements of the Nobel laureates, Wiley will be making a selection of content from this year’s winners free to access until the end of the year. Please visit the individual announcements on the Wiley Press Room to access content:

1Thomson Reuters, Web of Science, [Cited 07 Oct 2014.] Available from URL: http://apps.webofknowledge.com/