Elsevier Announces Winners of National Research Foundation Young Scientist Awards in South Africa

    Elsevier, today announced the winners of the Young Scientist Awards, sponsored by Elsevier as part of the National Research Foundation (NRF) President’s Awards in Pretoria, South Africa on September 1st.

    The event was attended by Ms. Naledi Pandor, Minister of Science and Technology South Africa; Dr. Albert van Jaarsveld, CEO of the NRF; JC Heyneke, Head of Sales Strategy and Business Development Science & Technology, Elsevier. Awards were presented to young South African researchers on the basis of exceptional potential demonstrated in their published doctoral work and/ or their research outputs in their early post-doctoral careers, are considered likely to become future international leaders in their field.

    This year’s Young Scientist Award winners are:

    • Dr. Cang Hui, University of Stellenbosch
    • Dr. John Terblanche, University of Stellenbosch
    • Dr. Trevor Vickey, University of Witwatersrand

    Dr. Albert van Jaarsveld of the NRF commented, “Our partnership with Elsevier reflects a strong relationship and commitment towards acceleration of science in South Africa. Elsevier and the NRF have extended cooperation for 2011 to several events supporting research in South Africa.”

    JC Heyneke, from Elsevier added, “We greatly value initiatives that honour achievements of young scientists. Our involvement is part of Elsevier’s efforts to provide a platform to recognize researchers for their contributions to knowledge creation and dissemination.”