The Institute of Physics & IOP Publishing recognise student science writers through award sponsorship

At last night’s Science Writers’ Awards in London, the Association of British Science Writers (ABSW) announced the addition of a new award which is being sponsored by the Institute of Physics (IOP) and its publishing company, IOP Publishing.

The IOP Student Science Publication Award will be launched in 2014 and will reward student journalists who produce a regular science publication, such as a newspaper or magazine, either in print or online. The award will be presented to the editor of a specific publication but will recognise all contributors to it.

Connie St Louis, President of the ABSW said: “Thanks to the support of the Institute of Physics and IOP Publishing, this new award will recognise and reward student editorial teams who produce a popular science publication. There are now many such publications being produced by students in Britain and Ireland and it is really important that the ABSW recognises and supports these initiatives as they provide a great training ground for the science journalists of tomorrow.”

Dr Beth Taylor, Director of Communications and International Relations at IOP, said: “As a society working to advance physics education, research and application, we recognise the contribution to science communication made by student publishers through this new award with ABSW. Our aim is to help the next generation of science writers to get established.”